Family Cobitidae Swainson, 1838 – loaches

Family Cobitidae Swainson, 1838 – loaches

The Family Cobitidae includes 18 genera (Acantopsis, Aperioptus, Bibarba, Canthophrys, Cobitis, Koreocobitis, Kottelatlimia, Lepidocephalichthys, Lepidocephalus, Microcobitis, Misgurnus, Neoeucirrhichthys, Pangio, Paralepidocephalus, Paramisgurnus, Protocobitis, Sabanejewia and Theriodes

There are 18 genera and 195 species currently recognized: Acantopsis (4), Aperioptus (7), Bibarba (2), Canthophrys (1), Cobitis (97), Koreocobitis (2), Kottelatlimia (3), Lepidocephalichthys (18), Lepidocephalus (5), Microcobitis (1), Misgurnus (7), Neoeucirrhichthys (1), Pangio (32), Paralepidocephalus (3), Paramisgurnus (2), Protocobitis (3), Sabanejewia (10) and Theriodes (1)

Images: the images are sorted according to genus. I was unable to find a suitable image for the genus Theriodes

GENUS Acantopsis

GENUS Aperioptus

GENUS Bibarba

GENUS Canthophrys

GENUS Cobitis

GENUS Koreocobitis

GENUS Kottelatlima

GENUS Lepidocephalichthys

GENUS Lepidocephalus

GENUS Microcobitis

GENUS Misgurnus

GENUS Neoeucirrhichthys

GENUS Pangio

GENUS Paralepidocephalus

GENUS Paramisgurnus

GENUS Protocobitis

GENUS Sabanejewia


Cobitidae PDF - Full Classification

Family Cobitidae loaches



Distributions and Habitats

Family Cobitidae