Family Synaphobranchidae Johnson, 1862 – cutthroat eels

Family Synaphobranchidae Johnson, 1862 – cutthroat eels

The Family Synaphobranchidae includes 3 subfamilies and 12 genera [Ilyophinae: Atractodenchelys, Dysomma, Dysommina, Ilyophis, Linkenchelys, Meadia and Thermobiotes], [Synaphobranchinae: Diastobranchus, Haptenchelys, Histiobranchus and Synaphobranchus] and [Simenchelyinae: Simenchelys]

There are 3 subfamilies, 12 genera and 40 species currently recognized: [Ilyophinae: Atractodenchelys (2), Dysomma (13), Dysommina (2), Ilyophis (6), Linkenchelys (1), Meadia (2) and Thermobiotes (1)], Synaphobranchinae: Diastobranchus (1), Haptenchelys (2), Histiobranchus (3) and Synaphobranchus (6)] and [Simenchelyinae: Simenchelys (1)]

Images: the images are sorted according to genus. There are no suitable images for Linkenchelys.

GENUS Atractodenchelys


GENUS Dysomma


GENUS Dysommina


GENUS Ilyophis


GENUS Meadia


GENUS Thermobiotes


GENUS Diatobranchus


GENUS Haptenchelys


GENUS Histiobranchus


GENUS Synaphobranchus


GENUS Simenchelys



Synaphobranchidae PDF - Full Classification

Family Synaphobranchidae cutthroat eels


Distributions and Habitats

Family Synaphobranchidae